Summary of waiver services

There are many kinds, but here are some examples.

For children:

  • Respite care to give caregivers a break

  • Family training

  • Help adapting a home or car to be accessible

  • Buying and learning how to use special devices they may need

  • Special therapies like music, aquatic, or sensory-motor integration

For adults living on their own:

  • Help with things like bathing, cooking, and paying bills

  • Transportation and support to help them take part in community activities

  • Support and training for getting a job

  • Help paying the costs of moving from a nursing facility


Note: This system is changing. You will still hear about the 4 different waivers, but they will soon be  integrated into one. Your child or family member should get the services they need instead of a defined collection for each waiver.

Here are the basics of the 4 (original) Medicaid Waivers:

  • Children's Choice Waiver

    • Ages 0-20

    • Support for children living at home with their families

  • NOW (New Opportunities)

    • Ages 3+

    • Support for children and young adults living at home or on their own

  • Supports

    • Ages 18+

    • Supports for people looking to integrate into the community and find work opportunities

  • ROW (Residential Options)

    • Ages any

    • Supports for people moving from a care facility to independent living

Moving from children to adult services:

If your child has the Children's Choice Waiver, they will automatically get adult Waiver services when they turn 21. The services included will depend on their needs.

In the next section, we'll give you more details about the services offered by each of these Waivers.

You can read all of them if you want, or only the ones you think your family member is most likely to get.


Sources: LDH, OCDD