Developmental Delay and Milestones

What is Developmental Delay?

Developmental Delay is when your child is not doing certain things that kids usually do at their age. There are different kinds of development, and different milestones: things a child usually can do at a certain age.

Kids learn things at different ages, so there is a big range of what is "normal." But an evaluation can tell if your child may need some some support to keep making progress.

Here are some examples of different kinds of milestones:

  • Physical things like holding up their head at 3 months old, or sitting up at 9 months.

  • Cognitive (thinking and learning) skills, like imitating a movement at 1 year old, or knowing some body parts at age 2.

  • Communication skills, like saying "ba-ba-ba-ba"at 9 months, or waving "bye-bye"at age 1.

  • Social and Emotional skills, like laughing at 6 months, or showing affection for caregivers at age 1.

  • Adaptive or self-help skills like eating , dressing or using the bathroom

Learn more: 

  • Click here for more about Developmental Milestones. (It will open in a new tab on your computer.) You can look up what your child should be doing at a certain age.

  • 1,2,3, Grow! - videos in 8 languages to show normal healthy development and what it means in different cultures

  • Click on the link at the bottom of the page to download this 4-page fact sheet.

Also see our other Guide: What To Do if Your Child May be Different

Sources: Center for Parent Information and Resources, CDC